Gdańsk Shipyard – the birthplace of “Solidarity”

Gdańsk Shipyard – the birthplace of the “Solidarity” trade union and the symbol of the fall of the Iron Curtain in Europe – is a unique site of outstanding universal value. Its preservation for future generations is our common privilege, obligation and great responsibility.

This valuable historical complex is a testimony of peaceful strikes ended with signing the August Agreements and establishment of “Solidarity,” the Independent Self-Governing Trade Union. It is also a unique example of industrial heritage, with remaining relics of shipyard’s architecture and infrastructure depicting the technological development of shipbuilding industry from the mid-19th century to the end of the 20th century. Unfortunately, it falls to ruin due to lack of proper protection and insufficient social awareness regarding its value and meaning. Inscribing the Gdańsk Shipyard on the UNESCO World Heritage List, which includes cultural heritage sites of “outstanding universal value,” is a chance to bring back the memory of this place and to grant it a proper status.

In order to reach this goal, we started a campaign to effectively promote the value of the Gdańsk Shipyard’s heritage among parties who make decisions about the future of this post-industrial complex. To support the way of the shipyard to UNESCO, we decided to involve as many allies as possible, representing different circles and milieus. A common voice is the greatest strength!

View the

View the
management plan

Watch the


Gdańsk Shipyard // UNESCO // Edward Lachman

Gdańsk Shipyard // UNESCO // Jan Roelfs

Gdańsk Shipyard // UNESCO // Lawrence Sher

Gdańsk Shipyard // UNESCO // Christopher Doyle

Gdańsk Shipyard// UNESCO// Michael Hoffman

Gdańsk Shipyard// UNESCO// Paul Sarossy

Gdańsk Shipyard// UNESCO// Dante Spinotti

Gdańsk Shipyard// UNESCO// Roberto Schaefer

dr hab. Piotr Dobosz, prof. UJ, Członek Rady Ochrony Zabytków

dr hab. Piotr Dobosz, prof. UJ, Członek Rady Ochrony Zabytków

dr inż. arch. Piotr Gerber, Wydział Architektury Politechniki Wrocławskiej

Wiesław Kaczmarek, Prezes Towarzystwa Opieki Nad Zabytkami

prof. dr hab. inż. Jerzy Jasieńko, Politechnika Wrocławska, Członek Rady Ochrony Zabytków

dr hab. inż. arch. Zbigniew Myczkowski, prof. PK, Członek Rady Ochrony Zabytków

prof. dr hab. inż. arch. Andrzej Kadłuczka, PK, Prezes Stowarzyszenia Konserwatorów Zabytków

Dr inż. Waldemar Affelt, Uniwersytet Mikołaja Kopernika w Toruniu

Paweł Jaskanis, Dyrektor Muzeum Pałacu Króla Jana III w Wilanowie

Prof. Jadwiga Łukaszewicz, UMK w Toruniu, Prezes Polskiego Komitetu Narodowego UNESCO

Prof. Jacek Purchla, Przewodniczący Polskiego Komitetu ds. UNESCO

Prof. Bogumiła Rouba, Uniwersytet Mikołaja Kopernika w Toruniu